Rise of a Merchant Prince: Book Two of the Serpentwar Saga

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Aug 1, 1996 - Fiction - 464 pages
48 Reviews

Surviving the wrath of the fearsome Sauur—a hideous race of invading serpents—noble Erik and cunning Roo have delivered a timely warning to the rulers of the Midkemian Empire, and are now free to pursue their separate destinies. Erik chooses the army—and the continuing war against Midkemia's dread enemies. Roo lusts for wealth and power—rising high and fast in theworld of trade. But with luxury comes carelessness and a vulnerability to the desires of the flesh. And a beautiful seductress with her ruthless machinations threatens to destroy everything Roo has built and become—summoning catastrophe into his future . . . and terror into his world.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga #2)

User Review  - Goodreads

The relevancy of the plot in this book makes a lot more sense when you get near the end, and into the start of the next in the series. I found the content of Roo's rise in merchant life interesting ... Read full review

Review: Rise of a Merchant Prince (The Serpentwar Saga #2)

User Review  - Dastan - Goodreads

This book is probably my favorite out of the four Serpentwar Saga books. It builds upon what was learnt in the first book and has a lot of character development throughout the story. It is also great to see exactly how Rupert rises to his great power starting with almost nothing. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1996)

New York Times bestselling author Raymond E. Feist's previous novels include the Chaoswar Saga (A Kingdom Besieged), the Demonwar Saga (Rides a Dread Legion and At the Gates of Darkness), the Darkwar Saga (Flight of the Nighthawks, Into a Dark Realm, and Wrath of a Mad God); the Conclave of Shadows (Talon of the Silver Hawk, King of Foxes, and Exile's Return); the Riftwar Legacy (Krondor: The Betrayal, Krondor: The Assassins, and Krondor: Tear of the Gods); the Serpentwar Saga (Shadow of a Dark Queen, Rise of a Merchant Prince, Rage of a Demon King, and Shards of a Broken Crown); the Riftwar Saga (Magician, Silverthorn, and A Darkness at Sethanon); Faerie Tale; The Prince of the Blood; and The King's Buccaneer. He lives in San Diego, California.

Bibliographic information