Toxic Charity: How the Church Hurts Those They Help and How to Reverse It

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Oct 11, 2011 - Social Science - 208 pages
1 Review
Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - addunn3 - LibraryThing

Interesting concepts around charity. Looks at charity as either "crisis" intervention or "community development", but often charity ends up in the first category simply because it is easier, quicker ... Read full review

Contents

The Scandal
The Anatomy of Giving
Beyond UsBased Giving
Wise Giving
Service with Dignity
About the Author
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

ROBERT D. LUPTON is founder and president of FCS (Focused Community Strategies) Urban Ministries and author of Toxic Charity;  Theirs Is the Kingdom; Return Flight; Renewing the City; Compassion, Justice, and the Christian Life; and the widely circulated “Urban Perspectives” newsletter. He has a Ph.D. in psychology from the University of Georgia.

To learn more, visit www.fcsministries.org.

Bibliographic information