Go Down, Moses

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, May 18, 2011 - Fiction - 384 pages
197 Reviews

“I believe that man will not merely endure: he will prevail. He is immortal, not because he alone among creatures has an inexhaustible voice, but because he has a soul, a spirit capable of compassion and sacrifice and endurance.” —William Faulkner, on receiving the Nobel Prize
Go Down, Moses is composed of seven interrelated stories, all of them set in Faulkner’s mythic Yoknapatawpha County. From a variety of perspectives, Faulkner examines the complex, changing relationships between blacks and whites, between man and nature, weaving a cohesive novel rich in implication and insight.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Faulkner is probably the most rewarding writer to read. - Goodreads
The writing style is confusing and difficult to follow. - Goodreads
This is a great introduction to Faulkner's writings. - Goodreads
Writing so good it takes your breath away. - Goodreads
I found the writing generally good, but dense. - Goodreads
Had a hard time following the story lines. - Goodreads

Review: Go Down, Moses

User Review  - Elizabeth Rogers - Goodreads

Humans as animals imagery is really strong in this collection of short stories, especially in the first half. Like all Faulkner, the names and relationships between characters is confusing (as is some ... Read full review

Review: Go Down, Moses

User Review  - Umair Riaz - Goodreads

So Just finished it and this is about the best time to write this. This is my first reading of a Faulkner work and it must be said that I found it impressive for a few reasons. First of all, the ... Read full review

All 197 reviews »

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2011)

William Cuthbert Faulkner was born in 1897 and raised in Oxford, Mississippi, where he spent most of his life. One of the towering figures of American literature, he is the author of The Sound and the Fury, Absalom, Absalom!, and As I Lay Dying, among many other remarkable book. Faulkner was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1950 and France’s Legion of Honor in 1951. He died in 1962.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information