Death of a Dreamer

Front Cover
Grand Central Publishing, Dec 14, 2008 - Fiction - 256 pages
5 Reviews
Hamish Macbeth is on the trail of a killer with a penchant for poison in this novel of murder in the Scottish Highlands. When Effie Garrand is found poisoned by hemlock, it's up to Macbeth to find her killer before more nightmares unfold.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Death of a Dreamer (Hamish Macbeth #22)

User Review  - Goodreads

My actual rating: 2.75. This was my first time reading a book by MC Beaton and I found it to be charming -- though somewhat simplistic. The writing is average and the plot pretty mundane. It is the ... Read full review

Review: Death of a Dreamer (Hamish Macbeth #22)

User Review  - Goodreads

I think that I enjoyed this story better than the others I have read. The murder mystery had more twists and turns than usual. The love life of Hamish Macbeth is fuller than ever, with 2 old flames in ... Read full review


Chapter Three
Chapter Five
Chapter Seven
Chapter Nine
Chapter Eleven

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

M. C. Beaton's real name is Marion Chesney. She was born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1936. She has written over a hundred books under her own name and other pseudonyms: Ann Fairfax, Helen Crampton, Jennie Tremaine, Charlotte Ward, and Sarah Chester. She started her writing career while working as a fiction buyer for a bookstore in Glasgow. Working at one time or another as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor, she used her British background to write a series of regency romances set in England and Scotland. Some of her regency romances include The Folly, Colonel Sandhurst to the Rescue, and Regency Gold. In 1986, she was awarded the Romantic Times Award for Outstanding Regency Series Writer. She has also written two mystery series under the pseudonym M. C. Beaton: The Hamish Macbeth Series, which became the inspiration for a television show in England, and The Agatha Raisin Series, about a retired advertising executive. Her title His and Hers made The New York Times Best Seller List for 2012.

Bibliographic information