Where the Stress Falls: Essays

Front Cover
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Sep 21, 2001 - Literary Collections - 351 pages
20 Reviews

Susan Sontag has said that her earliest idea of what a writer should be was "someone who is interested in everything." Thirty-five years after her first collection of essays, the now classic Against Interpretation, our most important essayist has chosen more than forty longer and shorter pieces from the last two decades that illustrate a deeply felt, kaleidoscopic array of interests, passions, observations, and ideas.

"Reading" offers ardent, freewheeling considerations of talismanic writers from her own private canon, such as Marina Tsvetaeva, Randall Jarrell, Roland Barthes, Machado de Assis, W. G. Sebald, Borges, and Elizabeth Hardwick. "Seeing" is a series of luminous and incisive encounters with film, dance, photography, painting, opera, and theatre. And in the final section, "There and Here," Sontag explores some of her own commitments: to the work (and activism) of conscience, to the concreteness of historical understanding, and to the vocation of the writer.

Where the Stress Falls records a great American writer's urgent engagement with some of the most significant aesthetic and moral issues of the late twentieth century, and provides a brilliant and clear-eyed appraisal of what is at stake, in this new century, in the survival of that inheritance.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Where the Stress Falls: Essays

User Review  - Yossie - Goodreads

Susan Sontag's writing is always engaging and alive. Some of my favourite essays in this book include: A Poet's Prose Where the Stress Falls A Photograph Is Not an Opinion. Or Is It? Singleness ... Read full review

Review: Where the Stress Falls: Essays

User Review  - Laurie Customer - Goodreads

Well... I believe in giving thanks to written material that I have read. It was a great wonder. Read full review

Other editions - View all

References to this book

Europa: balans en richting

Limited preview - 2003

About the author (2001)

Susan Sontag is the author of four novels, The Benefactor, Death Kit, The Volcano Lover and In America; I, etcetera, a collection of stories; several plays; and five works of nonfiction, among them On Photography and Illness as Metaphor and AIDS and Its Metaphors. She lives in New York City. In 2001 she was awarded the Jerusalem Prize for the body of her work.

Bibliographic information