Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz

Front Cover
Aegypan, 2007 - Children's stories, American - 112 pages

Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz is the fourth book of the series. An earthquake splits open the earth under Dorothy, and she, her kitten Eureka, her cousin Zeb, and a horse named Jim fall into a city of glass. They are joined by the Wizard of Oz and nine piglets, and must wander through dangerous lands trying to find their way home. In their journeys, they must cope with invisible bears, flying gargoyles, and a den of young dragons. But rescue, and a return to the Emerald City, are not the end of Dorothy's troubles. Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz was published on June 18, 1908 and reunites Dorothy with the humbug Wizard from The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900). L. Frank Baum is best known for his "Oz" books, starting with The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. Baum wrote a total of fourteen Oz books during his lifetime, plus a collection of stories. The series was continued by others after Baum's death.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2007)

Lyman Frank Baum (1856 - 1919), better known by his pen name L. Frank Baum, was an American author chiefly known for his children's books, particularly The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. He wrote thirteen novel sequels, nine other fantasy novels and a host of other works (55 novels in total, plus four "lost works," 83 short stories, over 200 poems, an unknown number of scripts and many miscellaneous writings). His works anticipated such century-later commonplaces as television, augmented reality, laptop computers (The Master Key), wireless telephones (Tik-Tok of Oz), women in high risk, action-heavy occupations (Mary Louise in the Country) and the ubiquity of advertising on clothing (Aunt Jane's Nieces at Work).

Bibliographic information