The Sword of Truth

Front Cover
Gilbert Morris
Tyndale House Publishers, 1994 - Fiction - 409 pages
2 Reviews
Never in his wildest dreams did Myles Morgan believe he would rise above his commoner upbringing. Then through a tragic twist of fate, he is reunited with the father he never knew: Sir Robert Wakefield, lord and nobleman. Claimed as Wakefield's rightful heir, Myles is thrown into the dizzying life at court, the confusing intrigues of love, and the struggle between King Henry VIII and those seeking to bring the Bible to Englishmen in their own language - the most vocal of whom is a scholar named William Tyndale. Soon Myles must make a choice between the woman he has come to love and the faith he cannot live without.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SueinCyprus - LibraryThing

The story about a boy growing up in the time of Henry VIII. A strong Christian theme alongside realistically portrayed history. Fast-moving and alive. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - BoundTogetherForGood - LibraryThing

The Wakefield Dynasty weaves a fictional tale into historical fact. During the fascinating reign of Henry VII Myles Morgan, the lead character, is a young vassal being raised by his mother. Upon the ... Read full review


Dangerous Journey
The Kings War
Flight of the Falcon

25 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Gilbert Morris, May 24, 1929 - Gilbert Morris was born on May 24, 1929 in Forrest City Arkansas. He received his Bachelor of Arts in English in 1958 from Arkansas State University. He went on to earn his Master's in English from ASU as well and eventually earned his Doctorate in English from the University of Arkansas in 1968. After graduating from college, Morris became a pastor for a Baptist Church in Alabama. He resided there from 1955 until 1961, at which point he accepted an appointment as a professor at Ouchita Baptist University. Morris now writes books full time, and all of his stories have a basis in Christian faith. Over the course of his career, Morris has sold millions of copies of his titles. He has been a Gold medallion finalist several times and has received five angel awards, three for the Winslow series and two for the Appomatox Series. He won the National Award for Poetry from Cloverleaf in 1978.

Bibliographic information