Chiefs, Book 1

Front Cover
W. W. Norton & Company, 2006 - Fiction - 427 pages
6 Reviews
In the bitter winter of 1920, the first body is found in Delano, Georgia; the naked corpse of an unidentified teenager. There is no direct evidence of murder, but the body bears marks of what seems to be a ritual beating. The investigation falls to Will Henry Lee, a failed cotton farmer newly appointed as Delano's first chief of police. Lee's obsession with the crime begins a story that weaves through the decades, following the life of a small southern town and the role of three police chiefs in unraveling the crime. Chiefs is the best kind of thriller, where the investigation plays out against the drama beneath the surface of a seemingly placid community, seething with the pressures of race, love, hate, and; always; political power, extending from the town fathers all the way to Washington, DC. With a new foreword by the author, this volume will be a collector's treasure for all fans of Stuart Woods.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Chiefs (Will Lee #1)

User Review  - Goodreads

This book travels the generations between 1920 and 1963 in a small Georgia town, Prohibition to Camelot. Showing the impact of the outside world while maintaining authenticity in the story over that ... Read full review

Review: Chiefs (Will Lee #1)

User Review  - Cathy - Goodreads

To tell the truth, this book was a lot better than I anticipated. It was an interesting historical take on a small southern town that spanned over decades through 3 different police chiefs that had an ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (2006)

Stuart Woods was born in Manchester, Georgia on January 9, 1938. He received a BA in sociology from the University of Georgia in 1959. He worked in the advertising business and eventually wrote two non-fiction books: Blue Water, Green Skipper and A Romantic's Guide to the Country Inns of Britain and Ireland. His first novel, Chiefs, was published in March 1981. It won an Edgar Award and was made into a TV miniseries starring Charlton Heston. His other works include the Stone Barrington series, the Holly Barker series, the Will Lee series, the Ed Eagle series, and the Rick Barron series. He won France's Prix de Literature Policiere for Imperfect Strangers. Currently, two of his novels, Under the Lake and White Cargo are under development as feature films. In 2014, his titles Standup Guy, Carnal Curiosity, Cut and Thrust and Paris Match made The New York Times Best Seller List. Woods title's, Insatiable Appetites and Hot Pursuit, made The New York Times bestseller list in 2015.

Bibliographic information