The Forsyte Saga

Front Cover, Jan 1, 2004 - Fiction
275 Reviews
Consisting of three novels and two interludes, the Forsyte saga chronicles several generations of an upper middle class British family at the beginning of the twentieth century. Full of social satire, "The Man of Property" commences this fictional history and introduces the first generation of Forsytes, prominently featuring Soames and his wife Irene. Keenly aware of their nouveau riche standing and highly desirous of material possessions, Soames especially demonstrates the opposing forces of duty and desire. While interrupted by World War I, Galsworthy continued his trilogy with "Indian Summer of a Forsyte," "In Chancery," "Awakening," and finally "To Let," gradually bringing up another generation of Forsytes, including the second cousins Jon and Fleur Forsyte. The changes that occur over this fictional time show how this family grows and adjusts in a developing world. This saga demonstrates some of Galsworthy's best writing, who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1932 for his life's work.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

This is a masterpiece of writing and story telling. - Goodreads
The characters and plot both seem plodding. - Goodreads
A love story is involved, as well. - Goodreads
Good and interesting characters, nice writing. - Goodreads
But the writing is exceptional. - Goodreads
Right off the bat I was impressed by the writing. - Goodreads

Review: The Forsyte Saga (The Forsyte Chronicles #1-3)

User Review  - Julia - Goodreads

This is a trilogy, intimately covering three generations of a large, prosperous London family, starting in the 1880s. We follow, in great detail, their births, customs, weaknesses, habits ... Read full review

Review: The Forsyte Saga (The Forsyte Chronicles #1-3)

User Review  - Andrei Turcu - Goodreads

as a fan of family chronicles, I liked how the author described British society during the Victorian era with all its prejudices. Several figures of the family come into light during this long book ... Read full review

All 167 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2004)

At age 28, after a gentlemanly education at Harrow and Oxford, and a training at law, Galsworthy settled into simultaneous careers as a novelist and a playwright. The Silver Box, Galsworthy's first successful drama, was staged in 1906, the year he published the first volume of what was to become The Forsyte Saga. His one-word titles - Justice (1910), Strife (1909), Loyalties (1922)---suggest the nature of Galsworthy's artistic ambition: to generalize a social indictment, keeping faith with the objective methods of naturalism. In each, Galsworthy favors an austere irony and unresolvable situations, and balanced moral positions are displayed in the cabinetwork of "well-made" playwrighting. Reputed to have led to reforms in its time, his realism today seems contrived to produce aesthetic distance and a sense of resignation that is precisely what contemporary political dramatists strain hardest to avoid. Not surprisingly, critics have come away from revivals with the sense that (especially in his spare language) Galsworthy anticipates Harold Pinter rather than more socially engaged playwrights. Galsworthy wrote novels and plays alternately throughout his life. His masterwork, The Forsyte Saga, begun in 1906 and finished in 1928, and consisting of six separate novels and two linking interludes, is the most famous example of the sequence novel in English literature. It is a study of the property sense, the possessive spirit, in different individuals and generations of English middle-class society. He also completed a second trilogy dealing with the Forsyte family, called A Modern Comedy (1928). His last trilogy, a study of the Charwell family, is called End of the Chapter (1933). Galsworthy's later years brought him many honors, including the presidency of P.E.N. and honorary degrees from Oxford, Cambridge, and several other universities. After World War I, he was offered a knighthood, which he refused. He did, however, accept the Order of Merit in 1929, and in 1932 he was awarded the Nobel Prize. He was, however, too ill to attend the Nobel ceremony and died within two months of receiving the award. Although his posthumous reputation had waned, the centenary of his death, in 1967, brought a re-creation of The Forsyte Saga on British and American television in serial form. Interest in him skyrocketed, and the Forsyte novels again became bestsellers. With new popularity came fresh critical analysis. Pamela Hansford Johnson called The Forsyte Saga "a work of profound social insight and patchy psychological insight" (N.Y. Times). His critical writings include The Inn of Tranquility: Studies and Essays (1911) and Author and Critic.

Bibliographic information