The Collected Stories of Evan S. Connell

Front Cover
Counterpoint, 1995 - Fiction - 675 pages
0 Reviews
Evan S. Connell is one of America's most distinguished prose stylists, and this volume offers a major portion of his lifework. With Mrs. Bridge and Mr. Bridge, Connell stands at the forefront of American novelists. His critically acclaimed Son of the Morning Star, together with The White Lantern and A Long Desire, prove him also among the best nonfiction authors of the past several decades. A "writer's writer," Connell is a great artist whose influence has changed the way Americans craft fiction today.
The Collected Stories of Evan S. Connell gathers fifty-six stories written between 1946 and 1995 and incorporates the contents of Connell's three previous collections. Also included are twenty-eight stories never before published in book form, thirteen of them written in the past five years.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

From the prolific and accomplished Connell (Son of the Morning Star, Mrs. Bridge), a worthy compendium of 56 stories13 new, 14 previously uncollected, and 29 from three earlier collections: The ... Read full review

The Collected Stories of Evan S. Connell

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Short fiction is an art unto itself, more confined and thus more rigorous than the novelist's canvas. This volume of 56 stories spans a lifetime of masterly literary craftsmanship and includes 13 ... Read full review


Nan Madol
At the Crossroads

14 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1995)

Evan S. Connell was born August 17, 1924 in Kansas City, Missouri. He graduated from the University of Kansas in 1947. His first work, The Anatomy Lesson and Other Stories, was published in 1957. His first novel, Mrs. Bridge, was published in 1959. The sequel, Mr. Bridge, was published ten years later. In 1990, both novels were adapted into the film Mr. and Mrs. Bridge starring Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward. He wrote more than 15 books during his lifetime including Son of the Morning Star: Custer and the Little Bighorn, The Patriot, The Diary of a Rapist, The Connoisseur, Deus Lo Volt!, and Lost in Uttar Pradesh. He died on January 10, 2013 at the age of 88.

Bibliographic information