Coming Back to Me: A Novel

Front Cover
Macmillan, 2003 - Fiction - 320 pages
2 Reviews

It can take a long time to build up a life, and only moments to destroy it. Gary and Molly met in the way couples do: after a long haul of being single, quickly becoming soulmates and rejoicing in that fact. Beautiful, red-haired Molly ignites a fire in Gary and he eases the pain she feels about her past. Starting a family is something they both want badly to do, and with great joy Molly finds herself pregnant.

When she leaves for the hospital that things start to go seriously wrong. Just a few weeks later Gary is alone with a newborn and a mountain of medical bills he has no means to pay for. Desperate for help, he calls on Molly's long estranged sister, Suzanne.

Many authors have tackled the challenges of love and marriage. Caroline Leavitt claims the turf in her own exciting way, twisting and turning a medical nightmare into an opportunity for redemption and hope, in Coming Back to Me.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bkinetic - LibraryThing

Caroline Leavitt has a way of breathing life and high drama into family relationships. There are interesting plot twists and turns in addition to Leavitt's dependably rich characterization. Read full review

COMING BACK TO ME

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Lively melodrama from the author of six family-centric novels (Into Thin Air, 1993, etc.) in the vein of Jacquelyn Mitchard or Jane Hamilton.Middle-aged Manhattan book-designer Gary Breyer—orphaned ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

III
9
IV
23
V
53
VI
101
VII
139
VIII
189
IX
219
X
233
XI
249
XII
261
XIII
307
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2003)

Caroline Leavitt, a columnist for The Boston Globe, is the author of several previous novels, including Is This Tomorrow and Living Other Lives. Her essays, articles and short stories have appeared in Salon, Redbook, McCall's, The San Francisco Chronicle, and more. She lives in Hoboken, New Jersey with her husband, author Jeff Tamarkin, and their young son.

Bibliographic information