The Body Scout: A Novel

Front Cover
Orbit, 2021 - Fiction - 368 pages
3 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

In this "timeless and original" sci-fi thriller (New York Times), a hardboiled baseball scout must solve the murder of his brother in a world transformed by body modification, perfect for readers of William Gibson and Max Barry.



An Esquire Pick for the Top 50 Sci-Fi Books of All Time




A New York Times Best Sci-Fi and Fantasy Novel of 2021



"A breathlessly paced techno-thriller characterized by stunning, spiky worldbuilding." -- Esquire

In the future you can have any body you want--as long as you can afford it.

But in a New York ravaged by climate change and repeat pandemics, Kobo is barely scraping by. He scouts the latest in gene-edited talent for Big Pharma-owned baseball teams, but his own cybernetics are a decade out of date and twin sister loan sharks are banging down his door. Things couldn't get much worse.

Then his brother--Monsanto Mets slugger J.J. Zunz--is murdered at home plate.

Determined to find the killer, Kobo plunges into a world of genetically modified CEOs, philosophical Neanderthals, and back-alley body modification, only to quickly find he's in a game far bigger and more corrupt than he imagined. To keep himself together while the world is falling apart, he'll have to navigate a time where both body and soul are sold to the highest bidder.

Diamond-sharp and savagely wry, The Body Scout is a timely science fiction thriller debut set in an all-too-possible future.

"I devoured it." --Jonathan Lethem

"Completely weird and still completely real. Delightful--I couldn't put it down."--Shea Serrano

What people are saying - Write a review

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - quondame - LibraryThing

Another bio-engineered cyborg filled dystopia, uber-urban NYC centered around body scout Kobo an ex-baseball cyborg, and his foster brother the bio-engineered JJ Zunz long term star of the Mets. Zunz ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - richardderus - LibraryThing

I RECEIVED MY DRC FROM THE PUBLISHER VIA NETGALLEY. THANK YOU. My Review: First, read this: "We build better livers, and someone concocts stronger booze. We get sun treatments, then our chemicals burn ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2021)

Lincoln Michel is the author of the story collection Upright Beasts (Coffee House Press, 2015), which was named a best book of the year by Buzzfeed and reviewed in the New York Times; Vanity Fair; O, The Oprah Magazine; Tor.com and elsewhere. His fiction and poetry appear in The Paris Review, Granta, Tin House, Strange Horizons, Vice's Motherboard, and the Pushcart Prize anthology. His essays and criticism have been published by The New York Times, GQ, Rolling Stone, and The Guardian. He is the former editor-in-chief of Electric Literature. He is the co-editor of the science fiction anthology Gigantic Worlds (Gigantic Books 2015), the flash noir anthology Tiny Crimes (Catapult, 2018), and the forthcoming horror anthology Tiny Nightmares (Catapult, 2020). He teaches speculative fiction writing in the MFA programs at Sarah Lawrence College and Columbia University.

Bibliographic information