Schismatrix Plus

Front Cover
Ace Books, 1982 - Fiction - 319 pages
11 Reviews
Schismatrix Plus, is Bruce Sterling's new trade paperback. For the first time in one volume: every word Bruce Sterling has ever written on the Shapers-Mechanists Universe.

In the last decade, Sterling has emerged a pioneer of crucial, cutting-edge science fiction. Now Ace Books is proud to offer Sterling's stunning world of the Schismatrix--where Shaper revolutionaries struggle against aristocratic Mechanists for ultimate control of man's destiny. This volume includes the classic full-length novel, Schismatrix, plus thousands of words of mind-bending short fiction.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - adamwolf - LibraryThing

This is a "grand tour" style novel, set in our Solar System after biopunks and cyborgs get kicked off Earth. It's ironic, funny, and packed full of ideas. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - seehuhn - LibraryThing

Different human factions struggle over control of the solar system. The volume contains the novel "Schismatrix", followed by the short stories "Swarm", "Spider Rose", "Cicada Queen", "Sunken Gardens" and "Twenty Evocations", all playing in the same universe. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

14 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1982)

Bruce Sterling is a recent winner of the Nebula Award and the author of the nonfiction book "The Hacker Crackdown" as well as novels and short story collections. He co-authored, with William Gibson, the critically acclaimed novel "The Difference Engine." He lives in Austin, Texas, with his wife and daughter.

Bibliographic information