Suffer the Children

Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, Oct 27, 2010 - Fiction - 384 pages
119 Reviews
One hundred years ago in Port Arbello a pretty little girl began to scream. And struggle. And die. No one heard. No one saw. Just one man whose guilty heart burst in pain as he dashed himself to death in the sea. Now something peculiar is happening in Port Arbello. The children are disappearing, one by one. An evil history is repeating itself. And one strange, terrified child has ended her silence with a scream that began a hundred years ago.

From the Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Good book, but I hate circular plot lines! - Goodreads
The ending was a complete shock! - Goodreads
Then ending is just a classic Saul ending. - Goodreads
Some of the imagery still sticks with me to this day. - Goodreads
An original twist ending. - Goodreads
Not the story itself, but the actual ending. - Goodreads

Review: Suffer the Children

User Review  - Donna Brothers - Goodreads

I read this when I was a teenager. I remember that it scared me. I want to read it again Read full review

Review: Suffer the Children

User Review  - Katrina - Goodreads

Honestly, as an avid reader of disturbing books, this one takes the cake for DISTURBING! But, I couldn't put it down. I am not one to scare easily, and I've read plenty of books with some pretty ... Read full review

All 49 reviews »

Selected pages

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

House of Reckoning is John Saul's thirty-sixth novel. His first novel, Suffer the Children, published in 1977, was an immediate million-copy bestseller. His other bestselling suspense novels include In the Dark of the Night, Perfect Nightmare, Black Creek Crossing, Midnight Voices, The Manhattan Hunt Club, The Right Hand of Evil, Guardian, and Faces of Fear. Saul divides his time between Seattle, Washington, and Hawaii.

Bibliographic information