The bold and magnificent dream: America's founding years, 1492-1815

Front Cover
Doubleday, Oct 24, 1978 - History - 495 pages
2 Reviews
Bruce Catton and his son William B. Catton bring their special flair for analysis, narrative drive, clarity, and precision to this epoch of American history. They examine the complex ideological, economic, and social forces that led to the establishment of European colonies on the North American continent. They vividly describe the vigorous movement to independence, and show how the concepts of human equality and liberty were translated into the formal workings of popular government. Book jacket.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: The Bold and Magnificent Dream

User Review  - Chris - Goodreads

Well, this took me a long time to finish. Of course, it did cover from 1492-1815. It didn't always unfold chronologically, and I wasn't a fan of that. I found the last 1/4 -1/3 of the book much more ... Read full review

Review: The Bold and Magnificent Dream

User Review  - Tom Darrow - Goodreads

Like most of Catton's books, this is well-written and researched and accessable for your everyday reader. He does take more of a political and military approach to the subject (as opposed to social, religious, economic), but that is his bread and butter. Read full review



16 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1978)

Bruce Catton, whose complete name was Charles Bruce Catton, was born in Petoskey, Michigan, in 1899. A United States journalist and writer, Catton was one of America's most popular Civil War historians. Catton worked as a newspaperman in Boston, Cleveland, and Washington, and also held a position at the U.S. Department of Commerce in 1948. Catton's best-selling book, A Stillness at Appomattox, a recount of the most spectacular conflicts between Generals Grant and Lee in the final year of the Civil War, earned him a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award in 1954. Before his death in 1978, Catton wrote a total of ten books detailing the Civil War, including his last, Grant Takes Command.