Fellowship of Fear

Front Cover
E-Reads, Aug 26, 2010 - Fiction - 288 pages
52 Reviews
When anthropology professor Gideon Oliver is offered a teaching fellowship at U.S. military bases in Germany, Sicily, Spain, and Holland, he wastes no time accepting. Stimulating courses to teach, a decent stipend, all expenses paid, plenty of interesting European travel . . . what's not to like? It doesn't take him long to find out. On his first night, he is forced to fend off two desperate, black-clad men who have invaded his Heidelberg hotel room with intent to kill. And then there's the little matter of a few trivial details that the recruiting agency forgot to mentionůsuch as the fact that the two previous holders of the fellowship both met with mysterious ends. From there it's all downhill. Gideon finds himself the target in an unfamiliar game for which no one has bothered to give him the rules. What he does have, however, is his own considerable intellect and his remarkable forensic skills. He will need them, for he is playing for some fairly high stakes. The security of Western Europe . . . And his own life. Elkins' official website is at Aaron Elkins

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Fellowship of Fear (Gideon Oliver #1)

User Review  - Patrick Claflin - Goodreads

Good opening to the series. Dragged a bit with plot exposition towards the end - all in all I enjoyed it. Read full review

Review: Fellowship of Fear (Gideon Oliver #1)

User Review  - Carolyn - Goodreads

Very silly story, but entertaining for the two hours it took to read it. Read full review

All 32 reviews »

About the author (2010)

AARON ELKINS is a former anthropologist and anthropology professor who has been writing mysteries and thrillers since 1982. His major continuing series features forensic anthropologist-detective Gideon Oliver, "the Skeleton Detective." There are fifteen published titles to date in the series. The Gideon Oliver books have been (roughly) translated into a major ABC-TV series and have been selections of the Book-of-the-Month Club, the Literary Guild, and the Readers Digest Condensed Mystery Series. His work has been published in a dozen languages. Mr. Elkins won the 1988 Edgar Award for "Old Bones" for best mystery of the year (fourth book in the Gideon Oliver Series). He and his co-writer and wife, Charlotte, also won an Agatha Award and he has also won a Nero Wolfe Award. Mr. Elkins lives on Washington's Olympic Peninsula with his mystery-writer wife and frequent co-author, Charlotte. His official website is Aaron Elkins

Bibliographic information