Lamps of Courage: Four Novellas Honoring the Valor of Nurses Who Served Both God and Country

Front Cover
Barbour Pub. Incorporated, 2001 - Fiction - 343 pages
0 Reviews
When life seems most hopeless, Lucy Danielson starts a journal and collection of letters By Dim and Flaring Lamps. The Civil War is pressing upon her and all she holds dear, and it seems she must sacrifice her childhood love for the sake of honor and duty. Can serving the sick and wounded alongside her father fill the void in her life? Both of Lucy's twin granddaughters wanted to be nurses, but only Glorie actually finished the training. Stuck in a hometown hospital, she feels cheated that she isn't serving overseas with the doughboys in the Great War. Can she find her purpose while keeping the Home Fires Burning? Elisabeth Baker hoped that serving with the Red Cross would keep her away from the devastation of World War II, but she finds herself stationed at a northeastern refueling station in Labrador where each day a new friend is injured - or worse. During a winter of perpetual darkness, can she find the strength to be A Light in the Night to her patients and friends? Chasing down the enemies of disease and death in war-torn countries of the world is Kiersten Davis's dream. But before she can obtain her nursing degree, she must intern at clinics where homelessness, drug addictions, and abuse affront her. Can she find her path in life by praying Beside the Golden Door of a children's ward? For over one hundred years the descendants of Lucy Danielson have maintained her legacy - her journals, her letters, a special lamp pin, and her desire to heal. Follow these brave women as they seek God's will in their lives - and are blessed along the way by finding special men to share their dreams.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

JoAnn lives on the Minnesota prairie which is a setting for many of her stories. Once a full-time CPA, JoAnn now spends most of her time researching and writing. JoAnn has published historical nonfiction books for children and several novels with Barbour Publishing in the Heartsong Presents line as well as the American Adventure and Sisters in Time series for children. Several of her novellas are included in CBA best-selling anthologies by Barbour Publishing. JoAnn's love of history developed when she worked at an historical restoration in North Carolina for five years. She enjoys researching and weaving her fictional characters' lives into historical backgrounds and events. JoAnn believes that readers can receive a message of salvation and encouragement from well-crafted fiction. She captivates and addresses the deeper meaning between life and faith.

COLLEEN L. REECE was born and raised in a small western Washington logging town. She learned to read by kerosene lamplight and dreamed of someday writing a book. God has multiplied Colleen's "someday" book into more than 140 titles that have sold six million copies. Colleen was twice voted Heartsong Presents' Favorite Author and later inducted into Heartsong's""Hall of Fame. Several of her books have appeared on the CBA Bestseller list.

Bibliographic information