The first French explorers and missionaries came to the area that would later be known as Chsterfield Township around 1611, naming the dominant waterway Luc Sainte Claire. The first purchase of government land was made by Fabian Robertjean on August 20, 1820, in Section 11, near New Baltimore's Washington Street. In 1842, via Public Act 57, the Michigan State Legislature officially created the charter township of Chesterfield. Chesterfield is nestled between two old Michigan cities, New Baltimore and Mt. Clemens. The history of the township is closely aligned with these two cities, especially New Baltimore, with whom it has shared a post office from the time the New Baltimore Post Office was established in 1851 as Ashleyville (named for founder Alfred Ashley) and given its current name in 1855. New Baltimore was a part of Chesterfield until 1931, when it "seceded" from the township.
What people are saying - Write a review
Streets and Street Corners of Chesterfield
Businesses of Chesterfield
Growth of Community and Government
People and Families of Chesterfield Township
23 Mile Road Air Force Base Anchor Bay School Baltimore Bay Court Bay School District building built Carl Brandenburg Chesterfield Fire Department Chesterfield Fractional District Chesterfield Road Chesterfield Township Historical Clair Clemens Courtesy of Green Courtesy of Kraft courtesy of Marion Courtesy of Trinity Deborah Walsh Detroit disaster area early erome’s Corner erry o’s farm farmhouse French Genso George Furton George Romney Gratiot Avenue Green School Archives Hathaway Institute Helen Hospital included Jefferson Avenue Kabel Kolping Park Kraft family Lake St land located log cabin Loraine DeMuynck Lottivue Macomb County Macomb Township Marion Allemon Mary Hortos Michigan Michigan Humane Society Moermans moved Naldrett Native American oseph photograph Pictured Port Huron post office Road and Gratiot Roy Rivard Salt River Sancrant School Chesterfield Fractional Selfridge Air Force settlers station Sugarbush Road tornado victims Township Historical Society Trinity Archives Washington Township Weller School William Rivard Zischerk