A Chronological History of Australian Composers and Their Compositions - Vol. 4 1999-2013

Front Cover
Xlibris Corporation, Mar 28, 2014 - Music - 952 pages
0 Reviews
In this 4th and fi nal volume of a series that includes more than 800 composers and over 30,000 compositions Stephen traces the history and development of Classical music in Australia. From obscure and forgotten composers to those who attained an international reputation this volume reveals their output, unique experiences and travails. The foundation and demise of music ensembles, institutions, venues and festivals is part of the story and included in the narrative are performers, conductors, entrepreneurs, educators, administrators, instrument makers, musicologists, music critics and philanthropists. A concise yet comprehensive picture of Australian music making can be found in any given year.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

Stephen Pleskun was born 6 weeks prematurely in Crown Street Women’s Hospital in Sydney on 8th December 1955. Having taken music as an elective subject at High School, he started to consider the subject seriously during the 1970’s and took private lessons with Clarence Albert Phillips (harmony ad counterpoint), Anatolij Mirosznyk (piano) and Dave Martin (jazz). During this time, Stephen secured occasional work as a music teacher before spending 4 years at Sydney University studying English, Philosophy, Education and Medieval History, the first 3 at honours level. From 1986 onwards, Stephen wrote and presented lectures on the History and Development of Western Music at the Liverpool Academy of Music. The Chronological History of Australian Composers and their Compositions was begun in January 2008 and continues to be researched, compiled and edited to this day.

Bibliographic information