Of Love and Dust

Front Cover
Vintage Books, 1994 - Fiction - 281 pages
17 Reviews
Tractor driver Jim Kelly watches as the recently-released murder suspect Marcus treats the Cajun overseer Sidney Bonbon with supreme contempt on the Hebert plantation fields. To make matters worse, the black Marcus seduces first Bonbon's black mistress Pauline and then his Cajun wife Louise. As the inevitable showdown between the two men looms, Jim Kelly witnesses the contrast between blacks and Cajuns.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Of Love and Dust

User Review  - Karen - Goodreads

It was good. Took me over a year to read due to laziness. Read full review

Review: Of Love and Dust

User Review  - Anita Peeples-lowe - Goodreads

Ernest Gaines is an awesome author....his stories get in your head. I felt like I could actually hear the characters voices. Good Read!!! Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Ernest James Gaines was born on January 15, 1933, on the River Lake Plantation, Pointe Coupee Parish, Louisiana. His 1993 novel, A Lesson Before Dying, won the National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction. Gaines has been a MacArthur Foundation fellow, awarded the National Humanities Medal, and inducted into the French Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (Order of Arts and Letters) as a Chevalier. Although he was educated in California (at San Francisco State College and Stanford University), his fiction is dominated by images and characters drawn from rural Louisiana, where he was born and raised. Unquestionably the most recognizable, and probably the best, of Gaines's novels is The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman (1971), a fictional account of the long life of a black woman born a slave on a Louisiana plantation. Through the stories of the many fascinating people who touch Jane's life, Gaines presents not only a moving perspective on the struggles of African Americans but also a social history of the United States since the Civil War. It is a testimony to Gaines's skill as a writer and storyteller that many people believe Jane Pittman was a real person. Indeed, the novel is frequently misshelved in the biography section of bookstores. In 1993 Gaines also won the Dos Passos Prize and in 2000 he won the National Humanities Medal. Of Gaines's other works, Bloodline (1976), a collection of five short stories, stands out for its powerful portrayals of young men in search of self-respect and dignity.

Bibliographic information