Krakatoa: The Day the World Exploded: August 27, 1883

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Feb 5, 2013 - Science - 464 pages
52 Reviews

Simon Winchester, New York Times bestselling author of The Professor and the Madman, examines the legendary annihilation in 1883 of the volcano-island of Krakatoa, which was followed by an immense tsunami that killed nearly forty thousand people. The effects of the immense waves were felt as far away as France. Barometers in Bogotá and Washington, D.C., went haywire. Bodies were washed up in Zanzibar. The sound of the island's destruction was heard in Australia and India and on islands thousands of miles away. Most significant of all -- in view of today's new political climate -- the eruption helped to trigger in Java a wave of murderous anti-Western militancy among fundamentalist Muslims, one of the first outbreaks of Islamic-inspired killings anywhere. Krakatoa gives us an entirely new perspective on this fascinating and iconic event.

This P.S. edition features an extra 16 pages of insights into the book, including author interviews, recommended reading, and more.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lissabeth21 - LibraryThing

So much I didn't know - from science to global politics of the 19th century. What a terrifying ordeal and how fascinating that it was really the first time in human history that people could connect ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - untraveller - LibraryThing

Not exactly a page turner, but still a very interesting read. Read while I'm on Sumatra working w/ the orangutans....Am headed to lake Toba next weekend, the site of the world's largest volcanic ... Read full review


List of Illustrations and Maps xix
One An Island with a Pointed Mountain
Two The Crocodile in the Canal
Three Close Encounters on the Wallace Line
Four The Moments When the Mountain Moved
Seven The Curious Case of the Terrified Elephant
Eight The Paroxysm the Flood and theCrack ofDoom
Nine Rebellion of a Ruined People
Ten The Rising of the Son

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Simon Winchester is the acclaimed author of many books, including The Professor and the Madman, The Men Who United the States, The Map That Changed the World, The Man Who Loved China, A Crack in the Edge of the World, and Krakatoa, all of which were New York Times bestsellers and appeared on numerous best and notable lists. In 2006, Winchester was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) by Her Majesty the Queen. He resides in western Massachusetts.

Bibliographic information