Collected longer poems

Front Cover
Copper Canyon Press, 1994 - Poetry - 205 pages
5 Reviews
For fifty years, Hayden Carruth's poetry has been distinguished by the indelible presence of passion, compassion, and radical philosophy. Collected Longer Poems gathers the poet's choice of his narrative work and poems in sequence, including his epic on the nature of romance, The Sleeping Beauty, and meditative poems on the rural northeast that have made him the most accessible "regional" poet since Robert Frost. Our pre-eminent poet of improvisation within form, Carruth's renowned technical genius is perfectly matched to his ear for spoken language and narrative structure. By turns caustic and hilarious, his observations of that life, his own and his neighbors', ring as true as his ear for native speech. Collected Longer Poems completes the two-volume Collected Poems begun with the publication of Collected Shorter Poems in 1992, a volume that was a finalist for the National Book Award and won the National Book Critics Circle Award.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Collected Longer Poems

User Review  - William - Goodreads

Another first for me back in the day -- and I bragged to my Vermont Redneck buddies, this is the man -- they looked at the cover and didn't get it. Some time you gotta go deeper! Read full review

Review: Collected Longer Poems

User Review  - Randy Cauthen - Goodreads

"The Sleeping Beauty" is an essential, overlooked book. Read full review


Mother ig8j

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Hayden Carruth is the author of twenty-five books of poetry, a novel, four books of criticism, and two anthologies, and has held fellowships from the Bollingen, Guggenheim and Lannan foundations, as well as the NEA. His many awards include the National Book Award for Poetry, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and the Lenore Marshall/The Nation Award.

Bibliographic information