Swimming Lessons and Other Stories from Firozsha Baag

Front Cover
Vintage International, 1987 - Fiction - 250 pages
49 Reviews
Firozsha Baag is an apartment building in Bombay. Its ceilings need plastering and some of the toilets leak appallingly, but its residents are far from desperate, though sometimes contentious and unforgiving. In these witty, poignant stories, Mistry charts the intersecting lives of Firozsha Baag, yielding a delightful collective portrait of a middle-class Indian community poised between the old ways and the new.

"A fine collection...the volume is informed by a tone of gentle compassion for seemingly insignificant lives."--Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Good insight into a previously unfamiliar culture. - Goodreads
His style of writing, his intricate character building. - Goodreads
Read it as a book group selection. - Goodreads
the author's writing feels very authentic. - Goodreads

Review: Swimming Lessons and Other Stories from Firozsha Baag

User Review  - Niloy Ganguly - Goodreads

Swimming Lessons was the best Read full review

Review: Swimming Lessons and Other Stories from Firozsha Baag

User Review  - Fixxxer - Goodreads

This book is quietly hilarious. Something you would love snickering to when the days are really bad and you are an atheist stuck with a bunch of creationist. Read full review

All 43 reviews »

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1987)

Rohinton Mistry was born in Bombay in 1952 and immigrated to Canada in 1975. He began writing stories in 1983 while a student at the University of Toronto. His books recount everyday life in India. Titles include Tales From Firozsha Baag, a collection of short stories, and A Fine Balance, a novel. Mistry's first novel, Such a Long Journey, received several awards, including the Governor General's Award and the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book. It was also shortlisted for the Booker Prize and for the Trillium Award.

Bibliographic information