Augustus: A Novel

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Mar 25, 2009 - Fiction - 336 pages
10 Reviews
A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power–Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony–young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - MikeFutcher - LibraryThing

The name of Octavius Caesar... This mysterious youth has captured the imagination of Rome; and I, myself, have not been immune." (pg. 81) Augustus is an accomplished piece of historical fiction but ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - gregorybrown - LibraryThing

John Williams only wrote three books once he became a mature writer—his first he disowned—and they're all excellent. Unfortunately, this book is the last of the three I've read. There's a peculiar ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2009)

John Williams was born on August 29, 1922 in Clarksville, Texas. He served in the United States Army Air Force from 1942 to 1945 in China, Burma, and India. The Swallow Press published his first novel, Nothing But the Night, in 1948, as well as his first book of poems, The Broken Landscape, in 1949. Macmillan published Williams’ second novel, Butcher’s Crossing, in 1960.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information