The Passion

Front Cover
Grove/Atlantic, Inc., Dec 1, 2007 - Fiction - 176 pages
33 Reviews
A magical, wonderful modern classic about the destinies of Napoleon’s faithful cook and the daughter of a Venetian boatman.
Set during the tumultuous years of the Napoleonic Wars, The Passion intertwines the destinies of two remarkable people: Henri, a simple French soldier, who follows Napoleon from glory to Russian ruin; and Villanelle, the red-haired, web-footed daughter of a Venetian boatman, whose husband has gambled away her heart. In Venice’s compound of carnival, chance, and darkness, the pair meets their singular destiny.
In her unique and mesmerizing voice, Jeanette Winterson’s “concentrated, beautifully detailed prose” (The New York Times) unfurls a “historical novel quite different from any other” (Vanity Fair).
“Recalls García Márquez . . . Magical touches dance like highlights over the brilliance of this fairy tale about passion, gambling, madness, and androgynous ecstasy.” —Edmund White

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - AltheaAnn - LibraryThing

I picked this up because I'd read Winterson's 'Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit' years ago, and really liked it. But, while that was an autobiographically-inclined novel, this was quite different. A ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Bernadette877 - LibraryThing

OK, Henri reaches Villanelle's city via Boulogne, Paris and Moscow, marching with Napoleon's army, but the real setting of this novel is definitely Venice. Or rather, Jeanette Winterson’s own magical ... Read full review

Selected pages


the Queen OF SPADES
the ROCK

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2007)

Born in Manchester, England, Jeanette Winterson is the author of seventeen books, including the national bestseller Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, and The Passion. She has won many prizes including the Whitbread Award for Best First Novel, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, the E. M. Forster Award, and the Stonewall Award.

Bibliographic information