The Beethoven Quartet Companion

Front Cover
Robert Winter, Robert Martin
University of California Press, 1994 - Biography & Autobiography - 300 pages
"Reading The Beethoven Quartet Companion made me want to listen to the quartets again from a new sociological as well as musical perspective. It is an invaluable guide not only for professional and amateur musicians but also for anyone who is curious about culture and wants to find out more."—Yo-Yo Ma

"These essays are the most readable, useful, and well-informed commentary available today on these masterworks. Michael Steinberg's 'program notes' to each quartet, directed at once to the musical beginner and to the expert, are as eloquent and persuasive as popular writing about music can get. . . . His essays are followed by equally expert and accessible contributions by other masters on The Master, providing literate music lovers with the context and equipment for a richer enjoyment and clearer understanding of these sixteen unique conversations among two violins, a viola, and a cello."—David Littlejohn, author of The Ultimate Art: Essays Around and About Opera

"A fine collection of essays to assist the music lover in the seemingly endless quest to illuminate the Beethoven string quartets."—Arnold Steinhardt, The Guarneri String Quartet

"This book delivers on the implied promise of its title—it provides a lively, readable, and wide-ranging introduction to the quartets. Readers at many levels of experience will find it profitable."—Lewis Lockwood, author of Beethoven: Studies in the Creative Process

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


String Quartet in F Major Op 18 no I
Performing the Beethoven Quartets in Their First Century
Beyond Classicism
Music Culture
A Players Perspective
The Early Quartets
String Quartet in G Major Op 18 no 2
String Quartet in BFlat Major Op 18 no 6
String Quartet in E Minor Op 59 no 2
String Quartet in EFlat Major Op 74
The Late Quartets
String Quartet in CSharp Minor Op 131 2 45
String Quartet in A Minor Op 132

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Robert Winter is Professor of Music at the University of California, Los Angeles. He is author of Music for Our Time (1992) and co-author of The Beethoven Sketchbooks (California, 1985). Robert Martin is Assistant Dean of Humanities and Adjunct Associate Professor of Philosophy at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Bibliographic information