The Halloween Tree

Front Cover
Knopf, 1972 - Juvenile Fiction - 145 pages
33 Reviews
ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT, eight trick-or-treaters gather at the haunted house by the edge of town, ready for adventure. But when Something whisks their friend Pip away, only one man, the sinister Carapace Clavicle Moundshroud, can help the boys find him. "If you want to know what Halloween is, or if you simply want an eerie adventure, take this mysteryhistory trip. You couldn't ask for better than master fantasizer Ray Bradbury," raves The Boston Globe.

Originally published in 1972, this handsome hardcover reissue celebrates its 35th anniversary. It's the perfect gift for fans of Harry Potter and Philip Pullman.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
8
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - whitewavedarling - LibraryThing

This is a fun book with a rhythm of language that adds to the haunting quality of the story, building tension upon what at first seemed somewhat harmless becomes more and more striking, more and more ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - elenchus - LibraryThing

Some books I kill by analysis. With The Halloween Tree I applied a tourniquet. The Undiscovered Country. Out there. Look long, look deep, make a feast. The Past, boys, the Past. Oh, it's dark, yes ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
5
Section 2
9
Section 3
13
Copyright

17 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1972)

Ray Bradbury is America's foremost writer of science fiction and fantasy. Among his most popular adult books are Fahrenheit 451, The Martian
Chronicles, The Illustrated Man, Dandelion Wine, and Death Is a Lonely Business. In addition, he has written several books for children, including Switch on the Night. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Bibliographic information