The Bullet Trick

Front Cover
Canongate Books, Dec 1, 2007 - Fiction - 384 pages
1 Review
Crime Writers Association award winner Louise Welsh follows up her hit artworld noir The Cutting Room with a slick literary suspense thriller set among the decadent domains of contemporary Berlin, Glasgow, and London. Meet William Wilson, a foundering so-called mentalist, conjurer, and above all — despite frequently being the opening act for strippers — a master performer. When his agent books him for a string of cabaret gigs in Berlin, he’s hoping his luck’s on the turn. Among the showgirls and grifters of Berlin’s scandalous underground, Wilson can forget his lonely heart, his muddled head, and, more important, his past. But secrets have a habit of catching up with William and as he gets in over his head with a certain brand of lucrative after-hours work, the line between what’s an act and what’s real starts to blur. Bringing the seedy glamour of the burlesque scene magnificently to life, Louise Welsh’s deft contemporary tale is her richest and most macabre yet. A thundering thriller of Glasgow drinking dens, Soho clubs, and dark Berlin backstreets, The Bullet Trick is also an adults-only suspense, guaranteed to keep you guessing until its final explosive flourish.

What people are saying - Write a review

The bullet trick

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Welsh, winner of a Crime Writers├ƒ┬»├‚┬┐├‚┬Ż Association award for her first novel,The Cutting Room , offers another irresistible mystery. This time around the protagonist is William Wilson, a ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2007)

Louise Welsh has published many short stories and articles. The Cutting Room, her first novel, was translated into twelve languages and has been optioned for a feature film. Welsh was chosen as one of Britain's Best First Novelists of 2002 by The Guardian (UK). The Cutting Room won the Crime Writers Association John Creasey Dagger for the best first crime novel (2002), the Saltire First Book of the Year Award (2002), and BBC's Underground 2003 Writer's Award

Bibliographic information