The Avignon Quintet

Front Cover
Faber & Faber, 2004 - Short stories, English - 1367 pages
2 Reviews
Rich in invention, psychological truth and sheer entertainment, the five short novels that comprise 'The Avignon Quintet' form one of the key works of an undisputed modern master.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Scribble.Orca - LibraryThing

Lawrence Durrell is not an easy author to read. His prose is long, fabulous, filled with wandering soliloquies and journeys into the human heart, mind, spirit which at first can seem completely ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - pjpjx - LibraryThing

so long and so vacuous Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2004)

Born in Jalandhar, British India, in 1912 to Indian-born British colonials, Lawrence Durrell was a critically hailed and beloved novelist, poet, humorist, and travel writer best known for the Alexandria Quartet novels, which were ranked by the Modern Library as among the greatest works of English literature in the twentieth century. A passionate and dedicated writer from an early age, Durrell s prolific career also included the groundbreaking Avignon Quintet, whose first novel, Monsieur (1974), won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, and whose third novel, Constance (1982), was nominated for the Booker Prize. He also penned the celebrated travel memoir Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (1957), which won the Duff Cooper Prize. Durrell corresponded with author Henry Miller for forty-five years, and Miller influenced much of his early work, including a provocative and controversial novel, The Black Book (1938). Durrell died in France in 1990.

Bibliographic information