Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned

Front Cover
W. W. Norton & Company, 1998 - Fiction - 208 pages
4 Reviews
From the best-selling author of A Little Yellow Dog -- the eagerly awaited debut of Socrates Fortlow, a bold and original new hero.Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned introduces Walter Mosley's most compelling new character since the debut of his immortal detective Easy Rawlins: one Socrates Fortlow, a tough, brooding ex-convict determined to challenge and understand the violence and anarchy in his world -- and in himself.Three decades ago, the young Socrates had, in a burst of drunken rage, murdered a man and a woman with his huge rock-breaking hands. Twenty-seven years of hard time in an Indiana prison followed. Now Socrates lives in a cramped, two-room apartment in an abandoned building in Watts, scavenging bottles and delivering groceries for a supermarket. In each of the stories that comprise this richly brooding novel, Socrates Fortlow, like his namesake, explores philosophical questions of morality in a world beset with crime, poverty, and racism. He is an unforgettable presence and his perceptions cast a glow of somber lyricism upon an often harsh world. Socrates is a creation of stunning originality; the book he inhabits is Walter Mosley's most powerful and eloquent to date.

What people are saying - Write a review

Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned: The Socrates Fortlow Stories

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Esteemed actor Paul Winfield impeccably reads these "unabridged selections" from the cycle of 14 nonmystery stories in which Mosley introduces a new character, Socrates Fortlow. He is a brooding ex ... Read full review

Always outnumbered, always outgunned

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Mosley introduces a new character, Socrates Fortlow, an ex-con trying to redeem his life, who "risks his safety to help a young boy struggling with his own conscience," and tries to provide a measure of mercy to an old friend dying of cancer. (LJ 10/1/97) Read full review


Crimson Shadow o
Midnight Meeting O
Double Standard o
Equal Opportunity o
Marvane Street
The Wanderer o
Letter to Theresa o

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1998)

Walter Mosley was born in Los Angeles, California on January 12, 1952. He graduated from Johnson State College in Vermont. His first book, Devil in a Blue Dress, was published in 1990, won a John Creasy Award for best first novel, and was made into a motion picture starring Denzel Washington in 1995. He is the author of the Easy Rawlins Mystery series, the Leonid McGill Mystery series, and the Fearless Jones series. His other works include Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned, 47, Last Days of Ptolemy Grey, and Twelve Steps toward Political Revelation. He has received numerous awards, including an O. Henry Award, the Carl Brandon Society Parallax Award, and PEN America's Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bibliographic information