The Sweet Shop Owner

Front Cover
Pan Macmillan Limited, 2010 - Families - 262 pages
19 Reviews
The first novel from the Booker Prize-winning author of "Last Orders" and "Waterland" In the sweet shop Willy Chapman was free, absolved from all responsibility, and he ran his sweet shop like his life - quietly, steadfastly, devotedly. It was a bargain struck between Chapman and his beautiful, emotionally injured wife - a bargain based on unexpressed, inexpressible love and on a courageous acceptance of life's deprivations . . . threatened only by Dorry, their clever, angry, unforgiving daughter. 'In his moving first novel, "The Sweet Shop Owner," Graham Swift illuminates the history of one man through flashbacks on the last day of that man's life. Through the succinctly evoked provincial decades one of the engrossing features is the difficulty of love and of communication between generations' "London Review of Books" 'This beautifully balanced novel describes the arrangements, accommodations, pacts and treaties of our ordinary lives' "The Times" 'A quiet but beautifully shaped book' "Literary Review" 'Book for book, Swift is surely one of England's finest novelists' John Banville 'A remarkable novel . . . There is a touch of Joyce in Graham Swift's revelation of the hidden poetry of small men's lives' "New York Times Book Review"

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Sweet Shop Owner

User Review  - Naantje - Goodreads

You know those books that start of so-and-so, but if you power through the first few chapters, they get better and you get sucked into them and your effort pays off? This book is not one of those ... Read full review

Review: The Sweet Shop Owner

User Review  - Lorraine McDonald - Goodreads

I was left wanting more from this book & felt that it only scratched the surface with both the characters & the story, possibly this was because it was his first book. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Graham Swift was born in 1949 and is the author of eight acclaimed novels and a collection of short stories. With Waterland he won the Guardian Fiction Prize (1983), and with Last Orders the Booker Prize (1996). Both novels have since been made into films. Graham Swift's work has appeared in over thirty languages.

Bibliographic information