If Morning Ever Comes

Front Cover
Berkley Books, 1986 - Domestic fiction - 265 pages
21 Reviews

A touchingly funny tale from the Pultizer Prize-winning author of Saint Maybe. Ben Joe Hawkes comes from a large, cheerful family of women. But when one of his sisters takes her baby and leaves her husband, everything--including his perceptions of the past--changes. "Phenomenal".--The New York Times.

Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: If Morning Ever Comes

User Review  - Pam - Goodreads

This is one of Anne Tyler's first books. I tend to like books with a clear plot and steer away from character development fiction. Although the plot was secondary in this novel I did enjoy the ... Read full review

Review: If Morning Ever Comes

User Review  - Jessica - Goodreads

How does Anne Tyler make me want to read about regular families? I can never quite name what it is about her books that hook me, but this one has done it. Reading her first novel for a "Reading Bingo" I am playing at work. Loved it. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

15 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1986)

Anne Tyler was born in Minneapolis, Minnesota, on October 25, 1941. She graduated from Duke University at the age of 19 and completed graduate work in Russian studies at Columbia University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian and bibliographer. Her first novel, If Morning Ever Comes, was published in 1964. Her other works include Saint Maybe, Back When We Were Grownups, Digging to America, Noah's Compass, The Beginner's Goodbye, and A Spool of Blue Thread. She has won several awards including the PEN Faulkner Award in 1983 for Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant, the 1985 National Book Critics Circle Award for The Accidental Tourist, and the 1988 Pulitzer Prize for Breathing Lessons. The Accidental Tourist was adapted into a 1988 movie starring William Hurt and Geena Davis. In 2015, her novel A Spool of Blue Thread became listed on the New York Times bestseller list and it made the Baileys Women¿s Prize for Fiction 2015 shortlist.

Bibliographic information