My Year of Meats: A Novel

Front Cover
Penguin, Mar 1, 1999 - Fiction - 400 pages
2 Reviews
A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love—the breakout hit by the celebrated author of A Tale for the Time Being

Ruth Ozeki’s mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by USA Today as “rare and provocative” and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

Food for Thought

User Review  - Jeannette Pomerance - Borders

Ozeki's book is a fantastic read, both as a story and a critical look at the modern meat-packing industry. Her prose is very simple and clear, epecially in the most dramatic and heartfelt moments, and ... Read full review

My year of meats

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

As a writer, Ozeki draws upon her knowledge in documentary filmmaking cleverly to bring the worlds of two women together by utilizing the U.S. meat industry as a central link. Alternating between the ... Read full review

All 2 reviews »

Contents

JANE
AKIKO
SUZIE
JANE
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
JANE

JANE
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
GRACE
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
JANE
HELEN
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
TWO SCENES
EDITING ROOM
AKIKO
A KIKO
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
JANE
AKIKO
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
GRACE
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
LARA DYANN
JANE
AKIKO
JANE
JANE
DISCUSSION QUESTIONS
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Ruth Ozeki is a novelist, filmmaker, and Zen Buddhist priest. She is the award-winning author of three novels, My Year of Meats, All Over Creation, and A Tale for the Time Being, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her critically acclaimed independent films, including Halving the Bones, have been screened at Sundance and aired on PBS. She is affiliated with the Brooklyn Zen Center and the Everyday Zen Foundation. She lives in British Columbia and New York City.

Visit www.ruthozeki.com and follow @ozekiland on Twitter.

Bibliographic information