The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis

Front Cover
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Oct 26, 2010 - Fiction - 752 pages
2 Reviews

Lydia Davis is one of our most original and influential writers. She has been called "an American virtuoso of the short story form" (Salon) and "one of the quiet giants . . . of American fiction" (Los Angeles Times Book Review). Now, for the first time, Davis's short stories will be collected in one volume, from the groundbreaking Break It Down (1986) to the 2007 National Book Award nominee Varieties of Disturbance.

The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis is an event in American letters.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

i don't understand why the other reviewers despise this book so much, sans the fact that these stories do not follow a traditional format.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Lydia Davis is the author of one novel and seven story collections, the most recent of which was a finalist for the 2007 National Book Award. She is the acclaimed translator of a new edition of Swann's Way and is at work on a new translation of Madame Bovary.

Bibliographic information