True stories

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, 1981 - Fiction - 103 pages
6 Reviews
Poems stress the need to recognize the crimes of repressive regimes, the redeeming power of friendship, the unreliability of perception, and the mystery of nature

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: True Stories

User Review  - Alexa - Goodreads

A beautiful collection of poetry, spanning love, politics, and death, in a way that spoke to me much more than her previous poetry has. This feels to me like a more mature Margaret Atwood, one who ... Read full review

Review: True Stories

User Review  - Johanna Haas - Goodreads

The first third are personal messages to people I don't know - perhaps her husband, daughter, mother, or friend. The second third are women's horror stories. The third is miscellany and I like it best. Read full review


ft True Stories
ST Nothing

7 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1981)

Born November 18, 1939, in Ottawa, Canada, Margaret Atwood spent her early years in the northern Quebec wilderness. Settling in Toronto in 1946, she continued to spend summers in the northern woods. This experience provided much of the thematic material for her verse. She began her writing career as a poet, short story writer, cartoonist, and reviewer for her high school paper. She received a B.A. from Victoria College, University of Toronto in 1961 and an M.A. from Radcliff College in 1962. Atwood's first book of verse, Double Persephone, was published in 1961 and was awarded the E. J. Pratt Medal. She has published numerous books of poetry, novels, story collections, critical work, juvenile work, and radio and teleplays. Her works include The Journals of Susanna Moodie (1970), Power Politics (1971), Cat's Eye (1986), The Robber Bride (1993), Morning in the Buried House (1995), and Alias Grace (1996). Many of her works focus on women's issues. She has won numerous awards for her poetry and fiction including the Prince of Asturias award for Literature, the Booker Prize, the Governor General's Award in 1966 for The Circle Game and in 1986 for The Handmaid's Tale, which also won the Arthur C. Clarke Award.

Bibliographic information