No Star is Lost

Front Cover
University of Illinois Press, 2007 - Fiction - 482 pages
0 Reviews
No Star Is Lost begins in 1914, when the O'Neills are penniless again, when the family has grown to include two daughters and five sons, and when young Danny O'Neill is living with the grandmother in the comparative luxury of an apartment. The new light it throws on the environment is in its picture of the poverty of the O'Neills, with their excitement on payday, when they know they will get meat for supper, and their painful struggle to keep up some outward respectability in a world where they cannot pay their bills or get credit. And although the characters fight, insult each other, get drunk, beat the children, curse the Jews and the neighbors, they also make desperate efforts to get along better, to be patient and keep sober, so that their explosions seem pathetic rather than vicious. -- Time Magazine.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

No star is lost

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This is the second novel in Farrell's five-volume saga of the working-class O'Neill and lower-class O'Flaherty families being brought back into print in a multiyear project by the publisher. It was released in 1938. Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

James T. Farrell was born Chicago, Illinois on February 27, 1904. He attended the University of Chicago, but left before graduating. During his lifetime, he publish more than 50 books, including 28 novels and 16 collections of short stories. He is the author of the Studs Lonigan Trilogy, the Danny O'Neill Pentalogy, The Bernard Carr Trilogy, and The Universe of Time series featuring Eddie Ryan. He died on August 22, 1979.

Bibliographic information