Front Cover
Anchor Books, 1994 - Fiction - 331 pages
0 Reviews
"Already a Canadian bestseller, Itsuka, the sequel to Joy Kogawa's award-winning novel Obasan, follows the character Naomi Nakane into adulthood, where she becomes involved in the movement for governmental redress. Much more overtly political than Kogawa's first novel, the story focuses on reaching that itsuka - someday - when the mistreatment of those of Japanese heritage during World War II would be recognized." "Although during the war both the United States and Canada interned Japanese-Americans and confiscated their property, when the war ended the property of those in Canada was never returned to them. Itsuka is the story of the fight to get government compensation for the thousands of victims of the wartime internment, which was, unbelievably, only just accomplished in 1988. Both a moving novel of self-discovery and a fascinating historical account of the fight for redress, Itsuka's final message is one of inspiration and hope."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

From Japanese-Canadian author Kogawa, a sequel to Obasan (1982) that—despite admirable intentions—reads more like a partisan political history than a novel. Continuing the story of her Japanese ... Read full review


User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Itsuka translates to "some day,'' as in, someday ancient wrongs will be righted, old grievances will be redressed. This is the story of the long struggle by Japanese Canadians to receive compensation ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1994)

Joy Kogawa was born in Vancouver in 1935. Like other Japanese Canadians, she and her family were interned and persecuted during the Second World War. Obasan is based on Kogawa's own experiences and on letters and documents of the time. Kogawa is a member of the Order of Canada and has authored four books of poetry, a book for children, and two other novels. Obasan won the 1981 Books in Canada First Novel Award and the 1982 CAA Book of the Year Award.

Bibliographic information