Sweet William: a memoir of Old Horse

Front Cover
Simon & Schuster, 1993 - Fiction - 269 pages
1 Review
John Hawkes (author of thirteen previous novels, including The Lime Twig, Adventures in the Alaskan Skin Trade, Virginie, and The Blood Oranges) is one of American fiction's most honored, irascible - and most unpredictable - talents. Now Hawkes delivers what is destined to become his most popular novel, the autobiography of a wise, witty, unforgettable...horse. Sweet William is fresh and lively, a completely compelling reading experience, and a truly human, humane tale. In this anthropomorphic odyssey, Hawkes takes us into the rough world of Old Horse from his Dickensian youth (marked by the death of his beloved dam), through his years on the racetrack of life, to his relationship with Master, the man whose kindness transforms his beastly life. Old Horse is a figure whose trek through the world's multitude of shifting circumstances symbolizes all the tests and challenges faced by every beast. Hawkes brings real heart and moments of savage humor to this equine saga.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

SWEET WILLIAM: A Memoir of Old Horse

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Hawkes's readers have watched him use horses (or stand-ins for them) time after time; in the 1988 Whistlejacket, the equine finally became a subject of its own in a novel about horse-as-object and ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - dbsovereign - LibraryThing

Extremely poignant story told by an old horse. We share his glory and his pain. And cry. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

9 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1993)

Author John Hawkes was born in Stamford, Connecticut on August 17, 1925. During World War II, he joined the American Field Service and was an ambulance driver in Italy and Germany from the summer of 1944 to the summer of 1945. He taught at Brown University for thirty years. He wrote eighteen novels, four plays, and a volume of poetry during his lifetime. His first novel, The Cannibal, was published in 1949. His other works include The Lime Twig, The Beetle Leg, and Virginie: Her Two Lives. His novel Adventures in the Alaskan Skin Trade won France's Prix Medicis Étranger in 1986. He died on May 15, 1998.

Bibliographic information