Hans Christian Andersen's Stories For The Household

Front Cover
Kessinger Publishing, Oct 1, 2004 - Biography & Autobiography - 292 pages
0 Reviews
1893. A collection of stories from Andersen, the Danish author and poet most famous for his fairy tales. Partial Contents: The Snow Queen; Thumbelina; The Emperor's New Clothes; The Wicked Prince; Two Brothers; The Little Match Girl; The Little Sea Maid; The Naughty Boy; Jack the Dullard; The Wild Swans; The Ugly Duckling; The Red Shoes; Twelve by the Mail; The Snail and the Rose Tree; The Goloshes of Fortune; and many more. See other titles by this author available from Kessinger Publishing.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2004)

Hans Christian Andersen, one of the best known figures in literature, is best know for combining traditional folk tales with his own great imagination to produce fairy tales known to most children today. The Danish writer was born in the slums of Odense. Although he was raised in poverty, he eventually attended Copenhagen University. Although Andersen wrote poems, plays and books, he is best known for his Fairy Tales and Other Stories, written between 1835 and 1872. This work includes such famous tales as The Emperor's New Clothes, Little Ugly Duckling, The Tinderbox, Little Claus and Big Claus, Princess and the Pea, The Snow Queen, The Little Mermaid, The Nightingale, The Story of a Mother and The Swineherd. Andersen's greatest work is still influential today, helping mold some of the works of writers ranging from Charles Dickens to Oscar Wilde and inspiring many of the works of Disney and other motion pictures. Andersen, who traveled greatly during his life, died in his home in Rolighed on August 4, 1875.

Bibliographic information