Gods And Beasts

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Feb 26, 2013 - Fiction - 304 pages
11 Reviews

In a Glasgow post office one week before Christmas, Martin Pavel cowers on the floor, his eyes locked on those of a terrified child. Above them, a masked gunman wields an AK-47 while the boy’s grandfather calmly volunteers to help the robber gather the money. Then the old man stands passively, hands by his sides, as the gunman raises the barrel and shoots him to shreds.

Recently returned to work after the birth of her twins, detective Alex Morrow is called in to head the investigation. Why did the grandfather offer his help? Was it a moment of madness, a noble act of self-sacrifice, or did the old man and his killer share a dark past?

Morrow’s enquiries bring her to the door of Kenny Gallagher, a politician fighting for his political life—and his marriage—after being publicly accused of having an affair with a young employee. And unknown to Morrow, a temptation too great to resist leads two of her detective colleagues to make a rash decision that will leave them at the mercy of a ruthless blackmailer.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Laura400 - LibraryThing

As others are saying, I thought this was a disappointment after her terrific previous novel, the End of the Wasp Season. The only part of Gods and Beasts that was engaging, for me, was the part with ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - nancyewhite - LibraryThing

This is the third in the Alex Morrow series set in Scotland. The previous two were 4 star reads for me, but this one was just off. Clunky. The mystery heads into politics and organized crime. Given ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

Denise Mina is the author of the novels The Red Road, Gods and Beasts, The End of the Wasp Season, Still Midnight, Slip of the Knife, The Dead Hour, The Field of Blood, Deception and the Garnethill Trilogy, the first installment of which won her the John Creasey Memorial Award for best first crime novel. Mina has twice received the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. She lives in Glasglow.

Bibliographic information