Heirs of Ravenscar

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers Limited, 2007 - Conflict of generations - 576 pages
3 Reviews

The next installment in the dramatic new Ravenscar series from the international bestselling author of Woman of Substance.

As Edward Deravenel stands alone on the rocky Ravenscar beach he counts his blessings. The war to end all wars is over; he and his brothers have survived. Now he can build Deravenels, the family business empire, into all he has dreamed of.

Yet there is a thorn in his side - his reckless younger brother, George. George's gambling and unpaid debts are beginning to cause rumours and unease.

And Edward realises that his brother is capable of not just recklessness but blackmail and betrayal. The fortunes of the house of Deravenal suffer a terrible reversal as one disaster follows another, and tragedy strikes.


A House. A Legacy. A Dynasty.

It is Edward's daughter Bess, his golden girl, who carries the family name forward, making an alliance that will secure the empire and the inheritance, and start a new dynasty.

And it is Bess's son Harry who stands in his grandfather's shoes at a similar age and vows to rebuild Deravenels to greatness - as long as he can have the son and heir he longs for. Whatever it takes...

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JennyMcb - LibraryThing

One of the worst books that I have ever read. The only reason I kept going was because I thought there had to be some conflict, a story line or even some ends tied up. It was a throw away, I just ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Pam1960ca - LibraryThing

I'm a bit of a fan of Barbara Taylor Bradford's books but this book just didn't do it for me. Very repetitive - repeatedly through the book she recaps so much of what has already happened or reminds ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2007)

Barbara Taylor Bradford was born and raised in England. She started her writing career on the Yorkshire Evening Post and later worked as a journalist in London. Her first novel, A Woman of Substance, became an enduring bestseller and was followed by twenty-three others, including the bestselling Harte series. In 2006 The Ravenscar Dynasty began an epic new family series around Ravenscar and the house of Deravenel. Barbara's books have sold more than eighty-one million copies worldwide in more than ninety countries and forty languages. In October of 2007, Barbara was appointed an OBE by the Queen for her services to literature. She lives in New York City with her husband, television producer Robert Bradford.

Bibliographic information