To begin again: stories and memoirs, 1908-1929

Front Cover
Pantheon Books, Nov 3, 1992 - Biography & Autobiography - 179 pages
0 Reviews
Decades of readers hungry for an intelligent thought gracefully expressed have already gathered the writings of M.F.K. Fisher close to heart. This new collection of classic prose, chronicling life's hungers and renewals, features pieces written as long ago as 40 years and as recently as the 1980s--many never before published. A PBS tribute to the life and works of Fisher is scheduled for later this year.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

TO BEGIN AGAIN: Stories and Memoirs

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Fisher (who died earlier this year) is best known as a food-writer, but, whatever the subject, almost all her writing has been reminiscence. In this collection of bite-sized snippets—some food ... Read full review


To Begin
Native Truths 19081952
On Coveting 1912

22 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (1992)

In a career that extended from the late 1930s to her death in 1992, M. F. K. Fisher wrote twenty-six books, including A Cordiall Water, Last House, and How to Cook a Wolf. Widely known as the woman who elevated food writing to a literary art, she was elected to the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters and received lifetime achievement awards from the James Beard Foundation and The American Institute of Wine and Food.

Bibliographic information