The world and other places

Front Cover
Jonathan Cape, 1998 - Fiction - 234 pages
0 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

THE WORLD AND OTHER PLACES: Stories, 1986-1999

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Astringently playful stories, written over 12 years, by the Whitbread Award—winning British novelist (Gut Symmetries, 1997, etc.). Though this first collection is brief, its author's talent isn't ... Read full review

The world and other places

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This work collects stories written over a 13-year period by Whitbread and E.M. Forster Award winner Winterson. A hallmark of her fiction is the avoidance of gender pronouns, resulting in a gender ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

Jeanette Winterson was born in Manchester, England in 1959 and graduated from St. Catherine's College, Oxford. Her book, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, is a semi-autobiographical account of her life as a child preacher (she wrote and gave sermons by the time she was eight years old). The book was the winner of the Whitbread Prize for best first fiction and was made into an award-winning TV movie. The Passion won the John Llewelyn Rhys Memorial Prize for best writer under thirty-five, and Sexing the Cherry won the American Academy of Arts and Letters' E. M. Forster Award.

Bibliographic information