The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time: Vintage Children's Classics

Front Cover
Random House, Aug 2, 2012 - Fiction - 304 pages

'Lots of things are mysteries. But that doesn't mean there isn't an answer to them'

This is Christopher's murder mystery story. There are also no lies in this story because Christopher can't tell lies. Christopher does not like strangers or the colours yellow or brown or being touched. On the other hand, he knows all the countries in the world and their capital cities and every prime number up to 7507. When Christopher decides to find out who killed the neighbour's dog, his mystery story becomes more complicated than he could have ever predicted.

BACKSTORY: Meet the author and learn about the background to Christopher's story.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Great book! I got it for my blind date with a book from my book club at school, I really enjoyed it. I would recommend it for mature 12yr olds and everything above, It does handle some quite adult topics like cheating, lies, sex and Asperger's syndrome but apart from that a great read!! Highly recommend. 

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

The book was very good .Christophere had to find who the muderer. He could tell no lies . It is was curious to know that how he would find the murderer.Ther were many facts about him.I would like to read all classic editions of this book.

All 10 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Mark Haddon is a writer and artist. His bestselling novel, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, was published simultaneously by Jonathan Cape and David Fickling in 2003. It won seventeen literary prizes, including the Whitbread Award. In 2012, a stage adaptation by Simon Stephens was produced by the National Theatre and went on to win 7 Olivier Awards in 2013 and the 2015 Tony Award for Best Play. In 2005 his poetry collection, The Talking Horse and the Sad Girl and the Village Under the Sea, was published by Picador, and his play, Polar Bears, was produced by the Donmar Warehouse in 2010. His most recent novel, The Red House, was published by Jonathan Cape in 2012. The Pier Falls, a collection of short stories, was also published by Cape in 2016. To commemorate the centenary of the Hogarth Press he wrote and illustrated a short story that appeared alongside Virginia Woolf's first story for the press in Two Stories (Hogarth, 2017).

Bibliographic information