Iron Pioneers: The Marquette Trilogy: Book One

Front Cover
iUniverse, 2006 - Fiction - 492 pages
6 Reviews
Back in Boston, the thought of settling in a new land had seemed a romantic adventure to share with her new husband. Now, despite the lush green trees, and the sandy golden beaches, she began to fear what wild animals or unfriendly Indians might lurk in those woods, and she sensed the loneliness to come of being so far from her family.When iron ore is discovered in Michigan's Upper Peninsula in the 1840s, newlyweds Gerald Henning and his beautiful socialite wife, Clara, travel from Boston to the little village of Marquette, on the shores of Lake Superior.The Hennings and their companions-Irish and German immigrants, French Canadians, and fellow New Englanders-dream of a great metropolis at the center of the iron ore industry. Despite blizzards, near starvation, devastating fires, and financial hardships, these iron pioneers persevere. In time, their wilderness village becomes integral to the Union cause in the Civil War and, then, a prosperous modern city.Meticulously researched, warmly written, and spanning half a century, Iron Pioneers is a testament to the spirit that forged America.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - LauraFabiani - LibraryThing

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I chose this book for review. Its cover, its title or the fact that it’s nearly 500 pages long didn’t initially attract me, but the reviews were very good—not that ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - hockeygal4ever - LibraryThing

Depth in Literature The Marquette Trilogy: Book One - Iron Pioneers is the first work I've read by Tyler Tichelaar. Generally, I am a fan of the historical fiction genre anyways, but I chose this book ... Read full review

About the author (2006)

Arthur Mills' third grade teacher read Roald Dahl's Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to the class and then asked the students to write a one-page sequel to the book. Arthur couldn't stop writing, and it was then that Arthur knew he would be a writer. Arthur Mills is a full-time husband, father, and author. Arthur is the creator of Branching Plot Books, a book series devoted to the art of double meanings and reader interaction. Branching Plot Books include the award-winning part-memoir and part-fiction novel The Empty Lot Next Door and the teen/young adult interactive fiction novel The Crawl Space, as well as the modern day fable Friend of Foe. Arthur and his wife, Yonsun, have two children, Arthur and Allen.

Bibliographic information