The Wrack of the Storm

Front Cover
Echo Library, Apr 1, 2006 - Fiction - 96 pages
0 Reviews
1916. Maeterlinck, the Belgian poet, dramatist, essayist and Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature, whose literary career began with the publication of two volumes of poetry. This volume contains, in the chronological order in which they were produced, all the essays published and all the speeches delivered by M. Maeterlinck since the beginning of the war, upon which, as will be perceived, each one of them has a direct bearing. They are printed as written; and they throw an interesting light upon the successive phases of the author's psychology during the Titanic and hideous struggle that has affected the mental attitude of us all. Contents: After the Victory; King Albert; The Hostage Cities; To Save Four Cities; Pro Patria: I; Heroism; Pro Patria: II; Pro Patria: III; Belgium's Flag Day; On the Death of a Little Soldier; The House of Destiny; In Italy; On Rereading Thucydides; The Dead Do Not Die; In Memoriam; Supernatural Communications in War-Time; Edith Cavell; The Life of the Dead; The War and the Prophets; The Will of Earth; For Poland; The Might of the Dead; When the War is Over; and The Massacre of the Innocents. See other titles by this author available from Kessinger Publishing.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

References to this book

About the author (2006)

Maeterlinck won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1911.

Bibliographic information