The Street Philosopher

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers Limited, 2009 - Crimean War, 1853-1856 - 487 pages
4 Reviews

An elegant, powerful novel, set in Victorian England, a time not so different from our own... perfect for fans of THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER and THE SHADOW OF THE WIND

Ambitious young journalist Thomas Kitson arrives at the battlefields of the Crimea as the London Courier's man on the ground. It is a dangerous place, full of the worst horrors of war but Kitson is determined to make his mark. Under the tutelage of his hard-bitten Irish boss Cracknell, and assisted by artist Robert Styles, he sets about exposing the incompetence of the army generals.

Two years later, as Sebastopol burns, Thomas returns to England under mysterious circumstances. Desperate to forget the atrocities of the Crimea, he takes a job as a 'street philosopher', a society writer reporting on the gossip of the day. But on the eve of the great Art Treasures Exhibition, as Manchester prepares to welcome Queen Victoria, Thomas's past returns to haunt him in the most horrifying way...

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jan.fleming - LibraryThing

Wonderful book with a duel narrative one taking place during the Crimean War and the other in Manchester in 1857. You learn about the horrors of the disaster that was the Crimea and the war ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bookmart - LibraryThing

Intrigue, love lust, loss, revenge, greed, coruption, murder; there are all here in this cracking yarn about newspaper correspondents embedded in the army during the Crimean conflict and subsequently when all the characters meet again in Manchester a few year later. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2009)

Matthew Plampin was born in 1975 and grew up in Essex. He read English and History of Art at the University of Birmingham and then completed a PhD at the Courtauld Institute of Art, London. He now lectures on nineteenth-century art and architecture. This is his first novel.

Bibliographic information