The Well of Lost Plots: A Thursday Next Novel

Front Cover
Penguin, Aug 3, 2004 - Fiction - 416 pages
69 Reviews
The third installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books—like the one she has taken up residence in—are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it’s up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with Something Rotten. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
18
4 stars
32
3 stars
17
2 stars
2
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Pat_F. - LibraryThing

If I had come across this series about 20 years ago, I probably would have thought it was brilliant--a Prose Resource Operative (i.e., a detective in the world of books)? Sign me up! But I just couldn ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - BookConcierge - LibraryThing

Audio book performed by Elizabeth Sastre This is book #3 in the Thursday Next series. After battling Acheron Hades to rescue Jane Eyre (book #1) and Goliath Corp (Book #2), Thursday needs some down ... Read full review

All 2 reviews »

Contents

The Story So
Authors Note
The Absence of Breakfast
Inside Caversham Heights
Three Witches Multiple Choice and Sarcasm
Landen ParkeLaine
The Well of Lost Plots
Night of the Grammasites
Snell Rest in Peece and Lucy Deane
Shadow the Sheepdog
Ibb and Obb Named and Heights Again
Who Stole the Tarts?
Crimean Nightmares
Jurisfiction Session No 40320
Pledges the Council of Genres and Searching for Deane
Havishamthe Final

Feeding the Minotaur
TonSixty on the A419
Apples Benedict a Hedgehog and Commander Bradshaw
Jurisfiction Session No 40319
Introducing UltraWord
Wuthering Heights
Educating the Generics
Landen Parke Somebody
Captain Nemo
Minotaur Trouble
PostHavisham Blues
The Lighthouse at the Edge of My Mind
Lola Departs and Heights Again
Mrs Bradshaw and Solomon Judgments
Revelations
Tables Turned
The 923rd Annual BookWorld Awards
Ultra Word 34 Loose Ends 34a Heavy Weather Bonus chapter exclusive to the U S edition
Credits
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Jasper Fforde traded a varied career in the film industry for staring vacantly out of the window and arranging words on a page. He lives and writes in Wales. The Eyre Affair was his first novel in the bestselling series of Thursday Next novels, which includes Lost in a Good Book, The Well of Lost Plots, Something Rotten, First Among Sequels, One of Our Thursdays is Missing, and The Woman Who Died A Lot. The series has more than one million copies in print (and counting). He is also the author of The Big Over Easy and The Fourth Bear of the Nursery Crime series, Shades of Grey, and books for young readers, including The Last Dragonslayer. Visit jasperfforde.com.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information