Shade's Children

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Mar 2, 2010 - Young Adult Fiction - 368 pages
22 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

From renowned fantasy author of the Old Kingdom series, Garth Nix, comes a dystopian fantasy perfect for fans of Hunger Games and Divergent.

Imagine a world where your fourteenth birthday is your last and where even your protector may not be trusted….

In a futuristic urban wasteland, evil Overlords have decreed that no human shall live a day past their fourteenth birthday. On that Sad Birthday, the children of the Dorms are taken to the Meat Factory, where they will be made into creatures whose sole purpose is to kill.

The mysterious Shade—once a man, but now more like the machines he fights—recruits the few teenagers who escape into a secret resistance force. With luck, cunning, and skill, four of Shade's children come closer than any to discovering the source of the Overlords' power—and the key to their downfall. But the closer they get, the more ruthless Shade seems to become.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
0
1 star
1

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - tanaise - LibraryThing

I wanted to like this one, as I've read (and loved) every other one of his books, but I just couldn't do it. I couldn't even finish it, I was too depressed by it. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rivkat - LibraryThing

After all the adults vanished, monsters came and collected the children, to be turned into monsters who fought for the delectation of other monsters as they reached age 14. A few escapees, with the ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Garth Nix is a New York Times bestselling novelist and has been a full-time writer since 2001, but has also worked as a literary agent, marketing consultant, book editor, book publicist, book sales representative, bookseller, and as a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve.

Garth’s many books include the Old Kingdom fantasy series, beginning with Sabriel and continuing to Goldenhand; the sci-fi novels Shade’s Children and A Confusion of Princes; the Regency romance with magic Newt’s Emerald; and novels for children including The Ragwitch, the Seventh Tower series, the Keys to the Kingdom series, and Frogkisser!, which is now in development as a feature film with Fox Animation/Blue Sky Studios. Garth has written numerous short stories, some of which are collected in Across the Wall and To Hold the Bridge. He has also cowritten several children’s book series with Sean Williams, including TroubleTwisters and Have Sword, Will Travel.

More than six million copies of his books have been sold around the world and his work has been translated into forty-two languages. You can find him online at www.garthnix.com.

Bibliographic information