Acceptable Loss (William Monk Mystery, Book 17): A gripping Victorian mystery of blackmail, vice and corruption

Front Cover
Headline, Apr 14, 2011 - Fiction - 352 pages
9 Reviews

As a past case returns to haunt Monk, can he find justice for the innocent?

Inspector William Monk once again faces a dangerous foe in Acceptable Loss, the seventeenth novel in Anne Perry's acclaimed series. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.

'[An Anne Perry novel can] take us away to the far reaches of our imaginations, to a place and a time about which we can only dream... We see the gaslight, we feel the fog, and in Perry's latest, Acceptable Loss, we experience the horror of murder, blackmail and sordid crime, as well as the shining victory of heroic sacrifice and personal courage' - Asbury Park Press

In 1864, Monk and his wife Hester are doing their best to care for Scuff, a homeless boy recovering from a terrifying ordeal at the hands of Jericho Phillips, the runner of a child prostitution ring. Although Scuff's evil abductor is dead, there is no suggestion that the ring has been broken and Scuff is certain that more children are suffering an even worse fate.

Monk is determined to find the remaining children and uncover the men funding the operation. And when the body of small-time crook Mickey Parfitt washes up on Mortlake's shore, it fortuitously points him in the right direction. But as Monk's investigation continues, the reputations of respected gentlemen start being called into question and his task becomes fraught with unforeseen dangers. In an illicit world of blackmail, vice and corruption, Monk must follow the trail - and his conscience - wherever it leads, no matter how disturbing the truth may be.

What readers are saying about Acceptable Loss:

'There is no one who better captures the Victorian period. From the homes of the wealthy, to the lowest, meanest parts of London, [Anne Perry] creates a fully-realised world'

'A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seedy side of Victorian London'

'Anne Perry is the best Victorian crime [writer] I have ever read'

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - cyderry - LibraryThing

The River Police are contacted when a body is found. When identified as Mickey Parfitt, a local pimp of young boys, Monk sees it as a chance to shut down the local child pornography trade. After ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JalenV - LibraryThing

Monk is dealing with a case involving raping and otherwise abusing little boys again. This time it's a pimp who got murdered. The reason turned out to be quite interesting, as did the killer. One of ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Anne Perry is a New York Times bestselling author noted for her memorable characters, historical accuracy and exploration of social and ethical issues. Her two series, one featuring Thomas Pitt and one featuring William Monk, have been published in multiple languages. Anne Perry has also published a successful series based around World War One and the Reavley family, and the recent standalone novel The Sheen on the Silk. Anne Perry was selected by The Times as one of the twentieth century's '100 Masters of Crime'.

Bibliographic information